Posted by: Kate | April 5, 2013

Baggage Karma Got Me

Apparently, I have offended the Checked Baggage Gods.

I try to do everything right. I carry on as much as I can, I put my small bag and coat under the seat in front of me.

under seat bag

I always tip Skycab and shuttle bus drivers, I’m an expert at packing a bag to just under 50lbs.

But none of that seems to matter because I am cursed.

I have bad baggage karma.

Things started to go wrong back in 2005. On my way to Ireland to participate in the International Rose of Tralee Festival as the Washington, DC Rose, both of my checked bags (filled with brand new clothes and hats for the publicity tour) were lost for two days!

I'm on the left, clothed solely due to the New Orleans Rose's generosity!

I’m on the left, clothed solely due to the New Orleans Rose’s generosity!

Then on a business trip to CA a couple years later my checked bag was lost for a day leaving me with only the jeans and t-shirt I was wearing, and a meeting scheduled for that afternoon!

Given these experiences I learned to carry on as much as possible.

Unfortunately, on our 2011 trip to Costa Rica we were forced to check our carry on bags when we transferred in Miami, resulting in our bags being lost. By the time our luggage caught up to us three days later in the Costa Rican jungle we had some very worn travel clothes and some hilariously skimpy Costa Rican wardrobe additions.

In 2012, our ski bag was lost on the way to Tahoe, necessitating ski rentals. But at least that bag showed up a day later.

And then, the final straw.

My ski boots are not on this plane.

My ski boots are not on this plane.

On our way back from a lovely ski trip to Colorado last week, Southwest somehow lost my boot bag on our direct flight, despite us checking-in well in advance.

After several days of searching they have now given up hope, and it looks like the best, most comfortable ski boots that have ever shushed through the snow have been sacrificed to the Checked Baggage Gods.

I’m in mourning.

Potential future home of my ski boots

Potential future home of my ski boots

Leave a Reply

Categories

