Posted by: Kate | June 24, 2011

Mixed Nuts Win & The Gazelle Goes to Chicago!

As I’ve mentioned before, this is the 10th season of the Mixed Nuts softball team that I play on and “coach”. Last night we had another great game and win, making our record 6-2!

This is very likely the best record any Mixed Nuts team has ever had!! It’s pretty exciting, and we are definitely having fun! After the game, most of the team met up for celebratory food and drink at our bar sponsor, Hamilton’s.

While I am a HUGE Marquette basketball fan and follow all college basketball pretty closely, the NBA doesn’t do it for me. The only exception is that I continue cheering for college players I like who play in the NBA. This is how I ended up being one of the small handful of people outside of Miami actually rooting for the Heat because of their star, former Marquette player Dwyane Wade (James who?).

So, I didn’t realize that the NBA draft was taking place yesterday until a saw the selection show on at Hamilton’s last night. Not really caring about the NBA, I didn’t pay too much attention until I saw clips from Marquette games on the screen. The next thing I know, The Chicago Bulls have used the 30th draft pick to add Jimmy “The Gazelle” Butler to their team!!

Jimmy has been my favorite Marquette player for the last several years, and I am absolutely thrilled that he will have the opportunity to continue playing in the NBA! Not only is Jimmy a versatile, powerful and graceful athlete, but he also has a tremendous personal story you can check out here.

In terms of Jimmy on the court, here’s a primer for you:

See Jimmy dunk.

.

See Jimmy get a critical turnover.

.

See Jimmy perform under pressure.

.

All you Bulls fans out there are in for a real treat! The rest of the NBA better prepare to get served…by THE BUTLER!!!

Let’s just hope Chicago and Miami don’t face each other again late in the NBA playoffs!

Leave a Reply

Categories

