Posted by: Kate | March 23, 2011

Drum roll please… My Finished Pendrell Blouse!

As you might remember, one of the projects I started in my current sewing renaissance was Sewaholic’s Pendrell Blouse. Tasia at Sewaholic is one of the first sewing bloggers I started reading after I made my Halloween costume last fall. She does a great job of explaining both simple and complex sewing tasks, and she always has exciting new projects to write about! I was particularly excited to support Tasia as a new pattern designer by joining the Sew-a-long for her first pattern, the Pendrell Blouse

I’m a bit embarrassed that it has taken me SO long to do a post on my finished Pendrell, particularly since I posted on my Pendrell muslin on January 21st and I actually finished the blouse before the end of January! I’ve enjoyed wearing it several times since then, but I never remembered to get pictures taken!

So, without further ado, here is my finished Pendrell Blouse!

Overall I am pretty happy with my Pendrell. The pattern is put together very well and the instructions were clear and easy to follow. I particularly loved that there were no closures (zippers, buttons, hooks) to deal with!

Here are a few things I will consider in making my next version of this blouse:

  • I used a cotton lawn (lightweight cotton), underlined with cotton batiste for opacity, on this first version. I really love the fabric but next time I will use a fabric with more drape that will likely be more true to the pattern.
  • I am definitely going to make View A of the Pendrell, which does not have a ruffle but has a slightly longer draped sleeve.
  • When I make this ruffled version of the Pendrell (View B) again, I’m contemplating making the sleeve a bit longer as a fellow blogger, Ms. Modiste, has suggested.
  • I shortened my Pendrell by about 3 inches, but now I’m wondering if I should have left it a bit longer, so maybe I’ll try that next time.
  • I’d like to consider other ways to address the excess ease I had in the under arm area, and to bring the princess seams a smidge more center. I may need to take a more serious look at whether the Full Bust Adjustment would help with this.
  • I would also like to try lowering the neckline by an inch or two as well! Oh the possibilities!

Here are a few more shots of my Pendrell:

All in all, making the Pendrell was a great experience and has only increased my sewing confidence. I’m looking forward to working on the next version!

Responses

  1. You did a great job! Looks great. Lowering the neckline is SUPER easy if you’re inclined to try it in the future.

    I’ve got my larger sleeve ruffles all cut out and ready to sew… so I’ll be your guinea pig about whether or not that works out! If you give it a go I would definitely recommend going with a fabric with a bit more drape – otherwise I think the sleeve would stick out a bit too much with the added width. (That’s my biggest fear about enlarging it.)

  2. I vote to keep the ruffle and make the sleeve a bit longer.
    Love the princess seams. There ought to be a store where all of the clothes have princess seams – they are so complimentary!
    Nan

  3. I completely agree about the drape. The seersucker was too stiff and I left off the bottom ruffle because it stuck straight out. I love the lack of zippers and buttons, it was so fast and easy!

  4. I think I will definitely try lowering the neckline – glad to hear it isn’t too tough!
    And fabric with more drape will be a must! I’m looking forward to seeing the longer sleeves too! thanks for the comments!

  5. I know this sounds really silly, but um… remember to measure and lengthen the neck binding accordingly! (I almost forgot that and it would have been a minor disaster, lol!)

  6. I can’t believe you MADE this! It looks great!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

