Posted by: Kate | January 14, 2011

Maybe I’ll be a Seamstress…

Growing up, I would sew off and on with my mother, who is a skilled seamstress with a great fabric stash and more project ideas than time. You’ll inevitably hear more about her in the future as it’s becoming obvious I’m turning into her! Lucky for me she is awesome!

The Vogue 2481 pattern for my floor length dress

One year I came home from college for Easter break needing a dress for an upcoming ball and we whipped up a red satin strapless gown in a couple days! I have always loved the sense that if I couldn’t find what I wanted in a store then we could just make it! This is especially helpful since I tend to think the vast majority of retail clothing is overpriced (and not necessarily well made.)

A few years ago my stepfather generously gifted me a sewing machine, and after letting it collect dust for a while, I was finally re-inspired by the need to make my costume for Halloween 2010.

I was dressing up as Snow White, but couldn’t find a suitable costume for sale. The options seemed to be:

Poorly Made, Unattractive, Matronly Snow White

or

Poorly Made, Slutty Snow White

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve done the slutty Halloween costume thing, but the time for that has passed and neither of these options were going to work. So…I decided to make my own!

Using Simplicity pattern 2813 (with a few adjustments: knee length hem and slightly lower neckline) I was able to make this costume with my mom’s help (special thanks for the zipper assistance)!

Don't you love my Snow White impression?!

I couldn’t have been happier with how it turned out, and now I’m setting my sights on improving my skills (zippers, I’ll conquer you yet!), and sewing up some items for every day wear!

My first project will be joining the sew-a-long for Sewaholic’s Pendrell Blouse!

More to come on that soon!

Responses

  1. It turned out so great! Zippers are also on my “to-conquer” list. I made a bridesmaid’s dress 2 summers ago and I got it ALL done and then tried to put the zipper in three times before bringing it to my seamstress neighbour friend 😀

  2. […] light of my renewed interest in sewing, I decided to try to continue this wonderful tradition of making a quilt to celebrate life’s […]

  3. […] Blouse. Tasia at Sewaholic is one of the first sewing bloggers I started reading after I made my Halloween costume last fall. She does a great job of explaining both simple and complex sewing tasks, and she always […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

