Posted by: Kate | January 13, 2011

I’m an Ophiuchus?

I’ve never been a believer in horoscopes, but like all college kids I learned the sign of my fake ID, and knew that in real life I was a Sagittarius…or am I? Apparently I’m actually an Ophiuchus.

As if it wasn’t obvious already, this proves horoscopes are just a bunch of BS.

According to this article in the Minnesota Star Tribune, “the ancient Babylonians based zodiac signs on the constellation the sun was “in” on the day a person was born. During the ensuing millenniums, the moon’s gravitational pull has made the Earth “wobble” around its axis, creating about a one-month bump in the stars’ alignment.”

Where the heck is the Ophiuchus??

The Babylonians discarded the Ophiuchus sign because they wanted 12 signs per year instead of 13. Thanks for nothing Babylon!

In summary, horoscopes are completley ridiculous, but you already knew that, didn’t you?!

Responses

  1. Why didn’t astrology completely die off once we discovered the sun wasn’t actually in those constellations at all–that the sky was actually three dimensional!?! Crazy discovery. I guess it did for non-ignorant people.

  2. This is crazy talk!!! I’m now a Leo?! Not that I ever thought much of my zodiac symbol, but it doesn’t seem like something that can change all of the sudden. First Pluto, now this….what will be next?! The universe is out to get us.

    ๐Ÿ™‚ happy blogging!

  3. Now I am a centaur with a bow instead of a goat with a fish tale? CRAZY

    My whole world perspective has changed.

    Next thing I know you are going to tell me about a guy who turns water into wine….

    • Water into wine?? Now you are just talking silly ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I’ve also heard that this A) only applies to one kind of zodiac, and apparently there are several and B) only applies if you were born after 2009? But I don’t have sources ๐Ÿ˜€


Leave a Reply

Categories

